Player Test Welcome to the Player Test!This 2020 50-question rules test is designed as a fun exercise for players who mainly participate in non-officiated play. Although the rules are the same for recreational and tournament play, when there is no referee to enforce the rules that job falls on the players and rests with their ability to self-enforce.So, if you want to test your knowledge of the IFP/USA Pickleball rules, give this test a try. A reference to the related section in the IFP/USA Pickleball Rules is included at the end of each question, but don’t spoil your fun. Complete the test and see which questions you miss before referring to the rulebook.Pick a time when you can complete the entire test without interruption because the test will automatically close after 50 minutes. Each question is scored after you select an answer. The test will close when you click the “Submit” button at the end of the test, so answer all questions before submitting the test.You can take the test as often as you like, so study up and take it again if you desire. Each time you will receive a follow-up email containing your test score so you can track your improvement. Before long you’ll be scoring 100%. To challenge yourself even more, try the Referee Test.Have fun and good luck!Note: If a test question has a "NEW in 2020" notation, this refers to either a new rule being added, or that an existing rule was revised First Name Last Name Email 1. (#11)Which of the following will be declared a fault when you volley a ball and you teeter (or "windmill") just outside the non-volley zone? [Rule 9.C.] Your momentum causes you to touch your partner who is standing in the non-volley zone Your partner, who is standing inside the non-volley zone, pushes you back Your partner, whose toe is on the non-volley zone line, pulls you back from falling into the non-volley zone All of the above2. (#7)A hinder is any element or occurrence that affects play, such as a stray ball that enters the court or people who disrupt play by walking across the court. Any player may call a hinder. [Rule 3.A.16.] True False3. (#43)Your opponent hits a powerful overhead to the sideline. You suspect that it might have been “out,” but you’re not certain. What are your options? [Rule 6.D.3. & 6.D.6.] If there is a referee, ask if they saw the ball Ask your partner if she saw it Ask your opponents if they saw it All of the above are correct4. (#28)The correct receiver is the only player who may return a served ball. If the wrong player returns the ball, it is a point for the serving team. [Rule 4.N.1.] True False5. (#27)If you are in the process of changing hands with both hands contacting the paddle, or you are attempting a two-handed stroke, and either hand is hit below the wrist by the ball, the ball is considered to still be in play. [Rule 7.H.] True False6. (#6)If a served ball hits the net and lands inside the non-volley zone line, a replay shall be called. [Rule 4.M.7.] True False7. (#41) (NEW in 2020)A team may change the starting server between games. If no notification is given to the referee before the next game starts, a fault will declared when the offending player serves or receives. After the fault has been applied, the offending team will decide which player will be the starting server and notify the referee. [Rule 5.A.3.]. True False8. (#50)When the score is 8-6-2, the receiver's partner must always stand in the left-hand court. [Rule 4.B.7.] True False9. (#54)During the end switch, you have up to 1 minute to switch ends and get in the ready position to resume play. No coaching is allowed during the end switch. [5.B.6.] True False10. (#55) (NEW in 2020)Players are responsible for line calls on their side of the net. If the opponents hit a ball close to a line, the player or team that is supposed to make the line call may appeal to the referee without making a call. Once they appeal to the referee, they lose the right to make any subsequent "in" or "out" call for that rally. (6.D.3.) True False11. (#26)You legally volley the ball, then begin to lose your balance. To avoid stepping into the non-volley zone (NVZ), you jump up and over the corner and into the out-of-bounds area adjacent to the NVZ. While the ball is still in play, your momentum then carries you into the net post, which is also out of bounds. [Rule 7.G.] This is a fault because the non-volley zone line projects vertically and you violated this projected line This is not a fault because you did not violate the non-volley zone This is a fault because you cannot touch the net or net post while the ball is in play This is not a fault because the touched post was out-of-bounds12. (#2)A serve landing on any correct service court line, except the non-volley zone line, is considered in play and should be returned by the receiving team. [Rule 6.A.] True False13. (#5) (CHANGED in 2020)The 2019 rule 4.M.3 (server missing the ball when trying to hit it and the associated fault) has been removed from the 2020 rulebook. It is not a fault if the server misses the ball when trying to serve. True False14. (#29)If a served ball hits the net and strikes the receiver or the receiver's partner before hitting the court surface, it is a point for the serving team. [Rule 4.A.9.] True False15. (#31) (NEW in 2020)Any malfunction of a net system during play shall be considered a hinder. [Rule 11.L.5.d.] True False16. (#34) (NEW in 2020)A ball can be hit twice but only during an unintentional, continuous, single-direction stroke, by one player. If the stroke is not continuous, not single-direction, or the ball is struck by a second player, it is a fault. [Rule 11.A.] True False17. (#46) (NEW in 2020)The term First Server refers to a doubles player who will serve from the right court after a side out dependent upon the team's score. The term Starting Server is the doubles player designated to serve first at the start of the game. The Starting Server shall wear the visible form of identification. [Rules 3.A.12 and 3.A.41] True False18. (#36) (NEW in 2020)Players may call faults on themselves or line calls to their disadvantage during or after the completion of a rally. [Rule 6.D.13.] True False19. (#56)A fault shall be declared if a player, or anything the player is wearing or carrying, crosses the plane of the net, or the extended plane of the net, before striking the ball. [Rule 11.I] If a ball has bounced and crosses back over the plane of the net, then a player may cross the plane of the net without first contacting the ball. [Rule 11.I.1] True False20. (#32)The act of volleying the ball includes the swing, the follow-through and the momentum from the action. [Rule 9.B.1.] True False21. (#49) (NEW in 2020)The definition of "Live Ball/In Play" is - The point in time when the referee starts to call the score. [Rule 3.A.20.] True False22. (#13)When your team has an odd score number, your team’s starting server (the player wearing the visible form of identification) should serve from the right-hand court when they are serving. [Rule 4.B.6.b.] True False23. (#66) (NEW in 2020)Players are permitted to quickly hydrate in-between points. The referee will ensure that the flow of the game is not adversely impacted. [Rule 10.C.] True False24. (#65)In a match with a referee, after a time-out has expired and the referee calls the score, the server must serve within 10 seconds, even if the receiver is not ready or not positioned in the receiving court. [Rule 10.A.5] True False25. (#16)A ball that cannot be called "out" will be considered "in". [Rule 6.D.3.] True False26. (#35)You hit a ball at a sharp angle toward the sideline; it bounces in your opponent's court and travels beyond the sideline. Your opponent manages to return the ball, hitting a low shot (below net level) outside and around the post that lands in your court, and you are unable to return it. This is a legal shot and ruled in your opponent's favor. [Rule 11.M.] True False27. (#38) (NEW in 2020)After a rally has concluded, a player/team may appeal to the referee that the opponents committed a distraction. If the referee determines that the distraction impacted the outcome of the rally, a fault shall be called. [Rule 11.J.] True False28. (#15) (NEW in 2020)The Service Motion is defined as "The movement of the server's arm to serve the ball. The service motion may consist of a forward swing only or be a combination backswing and continuing forward swing." [Rule 3.A.38.] True False29. (#60) (NEW in 2020)Players wishing to give "Not Ready" signals shall use one of the following: 1)Raise their paddle above their head, 2) Raise their non-paddle hand above their head and 3), , ,? [Rule 4.C.1] Turn their back completely to the server Turn their back completely to the net30. (#37) (NEW in 2020)If you ask your opponent's opinion about whether a ball was “in” or “out,” you must accept their opinion. Once you ask for the opponent's opinion, you lose any right to make a subsequent "in" or "out" call for that rally. [Rule 6.D.6.] True False31. (#51)The server is allowed 2 lets in a row; the third will be considered a fault. [Rule 4.O.] True False32. (#59) (NEW in 2020)After the start of the score being called, "Not Ready" signals will be ignored. This means a player showing a "Not Ready" signal after the score has started to be called will neither be honored nor punished. [Rule 4.C.2] True False33. (#18) (NEW in 2020)The net posts (including connected wheels, net post legs, arms, or other support construction) are positioned out of bounds. If a ball strikes the net post it is a fault and a dead ball is declared. This does not include the net, the net cable, or rope between the net posts. [Rules 11.K. & 11.K.1.] True False34. (#47)You feel that you are about to score the game-winning point when a ball from an adjacent court rolls onto your opponent's court. They don’t see it, but it slowly rolls a few feet behind them. If there is no referee and in the interest of safety, what should you do? [Rule 3.A.16.] Immediately yell Ball on Court, declare a hindrance and play the point over Since it is game point, keep quiet and continue the rally Continue the rally, but watch the ball; if it appears that they might step on it, yell, Watch Out None of the above35. (#12)If the ball is served by the correct team member from the wrong court, the service will be replayed with the server now serving from the correct court, without a penalty. [Rule 4.M.1.] True False36. (#63)In games to 21, each team is allowed 3 time-outs. [Rule 10.A] True False37. (#53) (NEW in 2020)At the start of each game, the starting server begins the serve from the side of the court dictated by the score. [Rule 4.B.2.] True False38. (#21)You must have possession of the paddle when it makes contact with the ball. [Rule 11.P.] True False39. (#17)It is not a fault on you if, during a rally, the ball grazes your hat on its way heading out of bounds. [Rule 7.H.] True False40. (#45)Your opponent hits a shot low over the net. You are positioned just behind the non-volley zone (NVZ) line and stretch to return the ball before it bounces. In the process your paddle scrapes the NVZ court surface just before you volley the ball. This is a non-volley zone fault because your paddle touched the non-volley zone during the act of volleying swing. [Rule 9.B.] True False41. (#39)During an extended exchange of crosscourt dinks, your opponent suddenly steps in the non-volley zone and then onto the adjacent out-of-bounds area so he can get closer to the net to smash a volley return. Is this legal? [Rule 9.D.] A. No, you can never volley a ball after stepping in the non-volley zone B. No, this maneuver is legal only if you jump across the non-volley zone, without stepping into it C. Yes, as long as both feet make contact with the area outside the non-volley zone before the ball is struck D. Both A and B are correct42. (#4)In singles play, when the score is 7 – 10, the server will serve from the right-hand court. [Rule 4.B.5.b.] True False43. (#40) (NEW in 2020)A player is allowed to reach under the net to play a ball that has bounced back over the net. Which of the following are true? [Rule 11.I.1.]. A. The ball must have crossed past the plane of the net before the player can cross the plane B. The player may not touch the net system or opponent's court while the ball is still in play C. If the player does not touch the ball, the team that hit the ball wins the rally D. All of the above44. (#30)If anything a player is wearing or carrying lands on the court, it becomes part of the court. Therefore: [Rule 11.H. and 11.I.] If a ball in play hits the item on the court, the ball remains in play If the item lands on the opponent's court, it is a fault If the item lands in the non-volley zone as a result of a volley, it is a fault All of the above45. (#20)When an incorrect server or player position is discovered after a rally, the offending team can be faulted until the next serve occurs. Once the next serve occurs, any previous points scored by the incorrect server, or incorrect server position, will stand. [Rule 4.B.11.] True False46. (#33)If your paddle touches the non-volley zone during a volley swing, it is a fault regardless of whether the touch occurred before or after contacting the ball. [Rule 9.B.2.] True False47. (#67)Once the choice of serve, receive, side or to defer has been selected, it may not be changed. [Rule 5.A.2] True False48. (#61)The Starting Server is defined as, "The player designated to serve first at the start of the game." Also, in doubles tournament play, the starting server shall wear a visible form of identification determined by the tournament director. [Rule 3.A.41] True False49. (#22)"Out" calls should be promptly signaled by voice and may include a hand signal, regardless of how obvious they may seem. [Rule 6.D.10.] True False50. (#48) (NEW in 2020)Even if all players in a match agree and request to remove a referee, the Tournament Director retains final discretionary authority on whether to remove the referee. [Rule 13.J.] True FalseYou have come to the end of the Player Test. If you would like to return to any questions to review your answers, please use the “Previous” buttons at the bottom of each page. If you are ready to submit the test, please click the “Submit” button below. Time is Up!