(#39) (NEW in 2022)
The words "third shot" are no longer in the rulebook and an actual "third shot" has no bearing on any wrong score call by the referee or player.
Other than on the serve, if a ball goes over the net and bounces on the court and then hits the center base, horizontal bar, or gets caught between the net and horizontal bar, a replay shall be called.
After game 1 has ended, Team A changes their starting server (and form of identification) but does not inform the referee or the opponents of the change. At the start of game 2, Team A serves the ball to start the game with the player wearing the form of identification. Should a fault be called?
Midway through game 2, the partners swing their paddles at the ball at the same time and one player's finger gets hit by his partner's paddle and is injured. After a fifteen-minute medical time-out, the injured player says he believe he can still play. The ref calls time-in and calls the score. The injured player then uses one of their time-outs. Should the referee allow the time-out?
Once the game has begun, except during time-outs, any communication between a player and any person not on the court, if determined by the referee to be coaching, shall result in either a verbal warning or technical warning to the offending player or team.
After game 1, Team A commits a technical foul. Team A will serve first for game 2 with a score of "0-1-2". Which player on Team B should receive serve?
A player standing outside the non-volley zone (NVZ) volleys the ball, but begins to lose her balance. To prevent stepping into the NVZ, she jumps over the corner and into the out of bounds area, then touches a net post while the ball is still live. A fault should be called.
When the Drop Serve is used, there is no rule stating the ball must be served before the second bounce.
When a server uses the Drop Serve, the receiver may call for a replay if they did not see the release of the ball. The "call for a replay" must happen before the receiver returns the serve.
If a served ball touches the net and then hits the receiver's partner, who is clearly standing outside of receiver's service area, what is the call?
When the wrong receiver is setup to return the serve, the referee shall call an illegal receiver fault when the ball is served.
Per the Officiating Handbook, which statements are true?
1. A referee should refrain from making derogatory comments about players on social media.
2. A referee should refrain from making complimentary comments about players on social media.
It is a fault if a player, while in the act of volleying, collides with their partner, and the momentum created as a result of the volley, causes the partner to enter into the non-volley zone.
Players may not use time-outs or a medical time-out to delay the start of a match. A match cannot begin until all players are present. After the match has started ("Game 1, time-in, 0-0-2") time-outs or a medical time-out may be taken.
When the Drop Serve is used, after the ball bounces, the server must contact the ball before it ascends higher than waist level.
The server may start their service motion during the calling of the score. The server may NOT serve the ball until the score has been completely called.
To be considered legal, a serve must be made so that contact with the ball is not made above waist level, the arm must be moving in an upward arc and the paddle head must not be higher than the server's wrist when it strikes the ball. (Drop Serve exception noted)
A referee may issue an immediate Technical Foul for Extreme Coaching.
(#14) (NEW in 2022)
A player using objectionable or demeaning language directed at another person shall incur a verbal warning, technical warning or a technical foul, depending upon the severity. Once a technical warning has been issued, the second offense will result in a technical foul.
The net posts (including connected wheels, net post legs, arms, or other support construction) are positioned out of bounds. It is a fault if a player contacts the net post while the ball is in play.
A player steps into the non-volley zone with her left foot and then jumps off the ground to hit a volley. Her right foot then lands outside the NVZ, but her left foot is still in the air when she volleys. This is a legal volley because only the foot that touches the NVZ is required to reestablish outside the zone before the volley strike.
When using the Drop Serve, the release of the ball must be visible to the referee only.
The incorrect receiver is set and ready to receive serve. Immediately after the serve is hit, the correct receiver runs over and returns the serve after it has bounced. This is a fault because the incorrect receiver was in the receiver position at the time the serve occurred.
(#53) (NEW in 2022)
After the serve, any player who stops play for a wrong score call will have committed a fault.
Any player may indicate "Not Ready" prior to the start of the score being called.
During a rally, Player A's hat flies off his head and is headed toward the ground. Which statement below is false?
(#36) (NEW in 2022)
The definition of a verbal warning is: A referee’s warning of a behavioral violation. A single verbal warning may be issued to each team once per match.
(#28) (NEW in 2022)
When a player throws their paddle, depending on the level of severity, a verbal warning, technical warning or technical foul may be given to the offender.
When a time-out is called, the referee should advise all players to place their paddles on the court.
A referee shall call a fault if a player calls "time-out" after the service motion has started but before the serve occurs.
In non-officiated play, the server's partner may call the score if the server is unable to call the score.
In a match to 21, teams have 3 time-outs available.
Per the rulebook, in doubles play when making a line call, which of the following phrases confirm that doubt exists?
A player standing outside the non-volley zone (NVZ) volleys the ball, but begins to lose her balance. To prevent stepping into the NVZ, she jumps over the corner and into the out of bounds area, then touches a net post after the ball was dead. A fault should be called.
(#32) (NEW in 2022)
In a match with a referee, after a rally has completed, a player notices that the ball is cracked and steps on it and crushes it. What should the referee do if they saw this happen?
After a rally has ended, the referee holds up her hand indicating that she is about to call the score. The server then serves the ball before the referee starts to call the score. This is a fault.
The "silent" line judge option allows for players to make the initial line call and line judges only make calls when requested by the referee after an appeal by a player.
A serve landing on any service court line, except the non-volley zone line, should be considered in-play and must be returned by the receiving team.
(#16) (NEW in 2022)
After the score has been called, but before the serve occurs, any player may ask any question about the score, correct server/receiver or correct position.
(#38) (NEW in 2022)
Which of the following are true regarding when a player may challenge an incorrectly called score and not incur a penalty?
When a rally is over, a player may appeal an opponent's line call to the referee until what point in time?
Any decision or ruling by a referee, including a judgment call, may be appealed by a player to the head referee or tournament director.
Players may call faults on themselves or line calls to their disadvantage during or after the completion of a rally.
Player A volleys a ball that hits the top of the net and then falls over and hits the horizontal bar. Just before the ball hits the horizontal bar, the opponent, Player Z, crosses the plane of the net. The referee should call a fault on Player Z since the crossing of the plane occurred before the ball hit the horizontal bar.
The instant after the ball is served, the server is allowed to step on the baseline or court.
Any malfunction of a net system during play shall be considered a hinder.
In a match with line judges, if the officiating team cannot make a line call, a replay shall be called.
A player makes an "out" call but then asks her partner if he agrees with the call. The partner says he did not clearly see the ball land. Since the partner did not state that the ball was "in", this does not constitute "creating doubt" and the initial "out" call of the player will stand
(#138) After a match has ended, if an incorrect server or incorrect server position is discovered, the error may be corrected until what point in time?
After a match has ended, if an incorrect server or incorrect server position is discovered, the error may be corrected until what point in time?
After the rally has ended, if a line judge shows the blocked signal, the referee may immediately make a call. The referee may also canvass the remaining line judges to help make the call. The referee does not have to wait on a player's appeal to canvass the remaining line judges.
If you do not make an initial line call and then ask your opponent's opinion if a ball was “in” or “out,” you must accept their opinion. Once you ask the opponent's opinion, you lose any right to make a subsequent "in" or "out" call for that rally.
Players may overrule line calls to their own disadvantage. This includes the overrule of the opponent, line judges, and even their partner. This includes an overrule of a referee's clear "in" or "out" call.
After the rally has ended, if a line judge shows the blocked signal, the referee may immediately make a call if they clearly saw the ball land. The referee must wait for a player appeal before the remaining line judges may be asked to make a call.
During the mid-game, end change time-out, coaching is allowed.
In a 2-out-of-3 match, if a team commits 2 technical warnings and a technical foul (listed in 13.G.2), the match shall be forfeited.
In a 2-out-of-3 match, a referee may impose a game forfeit when a player fails to report to play 10 minutes after the match has been called. A match forfeit shall be imposed when a player fails to report to play 15 minutes after the match has been called.
A. If one player calls the ball "out" and the partner calls the ball "in", the ball shall be considered "in".
B. There is no written rule stating if one player calls the ball "out" and the partner says, "I'm not sure", "I don't know", etc., the ball shall be considered "in".
If a player makes an initial "out" line call and then (out of good sportsmanship) asks for the opponent's opinion, which of the following are true? (Assume no referee overrule)
(#79) (NEW in 2022)
A player deliberately carrying or catching the ball on the paddle while performing the serve or during a rally shall have committed a fault. (Players with the use of only one hand exception noted)
In a high-profile singles gold medal match, the referee determines the receiver should be ready and calls the score to begin the 10-second count. The receiver asks the referee to confirm the score, which the referee does. The referee should stop play, answer the question and recall the score.
Any ball that cannot be called "out" must be presumed to be "in."
A ball in play that contacts a permanent object after it has bounced on the opponent's court will result in a dead ball and the player who hit the ball shall win the rally.
(#74) (NEW in 2022)
The incorrect server is set to serve. The receiver asks the referee, "Isn't she the wrong server?". The referee confirms that the server is incorrect. The serving team changes servers to avoid a fault. The referee should warn the receiver against asking correct server or server position questions.
An athletic player runs fast toward the net and jumps to hit a volley. The jumping player volleys a shot towards the opponent. The paddle flies out of the hitter's hand and eventually lands in the opponent's court. Before the paddle landed, the ball grazes the shoulder of the opponent. Assuming no distraction happened, the player who volleyed did not commit a fault.
During the serve, when the ball is struck, the server's feet shall not touch the area outside the imaginary extension of the sideline or the centerline, or touch the court, including the baseline.
Your partner drops her paddle and it lands on the ground on the court but not in the non-volley zone. The opponent's then hit a ball that hits the paddle lying on the ground. The ball bounces up high and you then hit the ball over the net to keep the rally going. This is legal because the dropped paddle is considered part of the court and play continues.
When using the Dual Referee Option (2 Ref System), which of the following statements are true?
In a 2-out-of-3 match, the starting server will always begin the game serving from the right-hand court.
In a non-officiated match, Team A believes Team B committed a fault (double bounce, double hit, ball touches player's body, etc) Team A can mention they believe Team B committed a fault, but the final decision on the fault resolution belongs to Team B. (Rule 13.D.1.b exceptions noted)
If a served ball hits the net and lands on the non-volley zone line, it is considered a "Let" and a replay will be called.
When a player commits a technical foul, one point shall always be deducted from the offending player's score.
A ball is hit at an angle, bounces in the court, and travels beyond the sidelines. The receiver manages to return the ball, hitting a low shot (below net level) around and outside the post into the opponent’s court. This is a legal hit and the ball remains in play.
There is no rule preventing a server from using either style of serving (regular or Drop Serve) at any point during a match. There is no rule stating that the server must give a notification when and if they switch serving styles.
The event-provided starting server form of identification must be worn:
When a player faults by hitting the ball into their own side of the net and the ball does not cross over the net, when does the fault occur?