1.
(#128)
When the Drop Serve is used, after the ball bounces, the server must contact the ball before it ascends higher than waist level.
2.
(#8)
A ball in play that contacts a permanent object after it has bounced on the opponent's court will result in a dead ball and the player who hit the ball shall win the rally.
3.
(#139)
In a non-officiated match, Team A believes Team B committed a fault (double bounce, double hit, ball touches player's body, etc) Team A can mention they believe Team B committed a fault, but the final decision on the fault resolution belongs to Team B. (Rule 13.D.1.b exceptions noted)
4.
(#35)
Players may call faults on themselves or line calls to their disadvantage during or after the completion of a rally.
5.
(#55) (NEW in 2022)
A server has a band-aid on their thumb and uses the thumb and band-aid to release the ball to perform the serve. The server imparts no spin on the release of the ball. This is not a fault.
6.
(#63)
Players may overrule line calls to their own disadvantage. This includes the overrule of the opponent, line judges, and even their partner. This includes an overrule of a referee's clear "in" or "out" call.
7.
(#113)
When a server uses the Drop Serve, the receiver may call for a replay if they did not see the release of the ball. The "call for a replay" must happen before the receiver returns the serve.
8.
(#31)
Any decision or ruling by a referee, including a judgment call, may be appealed by a player to the head referee or tournament director.
9.
(#71) (NEW in 2022)
When performing the volley serve, the server turns their back to the referee and hides the release of the ball before performing the serve. The referee shall call a fault on the deliberate hiding of the ball.
10.
(#73)
In non-officiated play, the server's partner may call the score if the server is unable to call the score.
11.
(#104)
The instant after the ball is served, the server is allowed to step on the baseline or court.
12.
(#138) After a match has ended, if an incorrect server or incorrect server position is discovered, the error may be corrected until what point in time?
(#138)
After a match has ended, if an incorrect server or incorrect server position is discovered, the error may be corrected until what point in time?
13.
(#27)
If you do not make an initial line call and then ask your opponent's opinion if a ball was “in” or “out,” you must accept their opinion. Once you ask the opponent's opinion, you lose any right to make a subsequent "in" or "out" call for that rally.
14.
(#100)
Players may overrule a referee's line call if it is to their own team's disadvantage.
15.
(#49)
In a high-profile singles gold medal match, the referee determines the receiver should be ready and calls the score to begin the 10-second count. The receiver asks the referee to confirm the score, which the referee does. The referee should stop play, answer the question and recall the score.
16.
(#29)
Any ball that cannot be called "out" must be presumed to be "in."
17.
(#14) (NEW in 2022)
A player using objectionable or demeaning language directed at another person shall incur a verbal warning, technical warning or a technical foul, depending upon the severity. Once a technical warning has been issued, the second offense will result in a technical foul.
18.
(#88)
A referee shall call a fault if a player calls "time-out" after the service motion has started but before the serve occurs.
19.
(#41)
If a player receives 3 technical warnings during a match, the referee shall always impose a forfeiture of the match.
20.
(#146)
When using the Dual Referee Option (2 Ref System) if the lead referee cannot clearly make a line call, they should always solicit the opinion of the 2nd referee.
21.
(#39) (NEW in 2022)
The words "third shot" are no longer in the rulebook and an actual "third shot" has no bearing on any wrong score call by the referee or player.
22.
(#24)
Any malfunction of a net system during play shall be considered a hinder.
23.
(#11)
When using the Drop Serve, the release of the ball must be visible to the referee only.
24.
(#108)
In a 2-out-of-3 match, if a team commits 2 technical warnings and a technical foul (listed in 13.G.2), the match shall be forfeited.
25.
(#105)
In 2-out-of-3 matches, 3 technical warnings ("3 strikes") equates to a game forfeit. In a single game to 15, the game forfeit is the same as the match forfeit.
26.
(#126)
When doubles partners disagree on a line call, (one calls the ball "out" and the other calls the ball 'in") either player may appeal to the referee for a ruling. The appeal to the referee can be made AFTER both players have made their line calls.
27.
(#43)
A player is allowed to reach under the net to play a ball that has bounced back over the net. Which of the following are true?
28.
(#145)
In a match to 21, teams have 3 time-outs available.
29.
(#60)
If a player makes an initial "out" line call and then (out of good sportsmanship) asks for the opponent's opinion, which of the following are true? (Assume no referee overrule)
30.
(#68)
The rules allow for a "game forfeit" under certain conditions. In a 2-out-of-3 match, if a player takes a valid medical time-out and cannot continue play after the time limit has ended, a game forfeit shall be declared.
31.
(#36) (NEW in 2022)
The definition of a verbal warning is: A referee’s warning of a behavioral violation. A single verbal warning may be issued to each team once per match.
32.
(#120)
When a player uses the Drop Serve, when the ball is released, there is no rule stating that the server's feet must be behind the baseline. Rules for feet placement are applied the instant the ball is struck to perform the serve.
33.
(#64) (NEW in 2022)
The server spins the ball to perform the serve but lets the ball fall to the ground. The server picks up the ball and releases again and then performs the serve before the 10-second count expires. The referee should call a fault.
34.
(#38) (NEW in 2022)
Which of the following are true regarding when a player may challenge an incorrectly called score and not incur a penalty?
35.
(#17)
It is not a fault if the server misses the ball when trying to serve as long as the serve occurs before the 10-second count expires.
36.
(#47)
The "silent" line judge option allows for players to make the initial line call and line judges only make calls when requested by the referee after an appeal by a player.
37.
(#129)
It is a fault if a wheelchair player does not return the ball before it bounces 3 times. The first bounce must be in the court, but the location of the remaining bounces are not specified.
38.
(#150)
A player makes an "out" call but then asks her partner if he agrees with the call. The partner says he did not clearly see the ball land. Since the partner did not state that the ball was "in", this does not constitute "creating doubt" and the initial "out" call of the player will stand
39.
(#48)
Per the rulebook, in doubles play when making a line call, which of the following phrases confirm that doubt exists?
40.
(#20)
During the mid-game, end change time-out, coaching is allowed.
41.
(#119)
Other than on the serve, if a ball goes over the net and bounces on the court and then hits the center base, horizontal bar, or gets caught between the net and horizontal bar, a replay shall be called.
42.
(#32) (NEW in 2022)
In a match with a referee, after a rally has completed, a player notices that the ball is cracked and steps on it and crushes it. What should the referee do if they saw this happen?
43.
(#22)
When a player faults by hitting the ball into their own side of the net and the ball does not cross over the net, when does the fault occur?
44.
(#132)
A referee may immediately call a distraction fault on a player during a rally.
45.
(#2)
If a served ball touches the net and then hits the receiver's partner, who is clearly standing outside of receiver's service area, what is the call?
46.
(#147)
Referees may eject or expel players for egregious behavior if the behavior happens during the match.
47.
(#134)
When a rally is over, a player may appeal an opponent's line call to the referee until what point in time?
48.
(#123)
Player A volleys a ball that hits the top of the net and then falls over and hits the horizontal bar. Just before the ball hits the horizontal bar, the opponent, Player Z, crosses the plane of the net. The referee should call a fault on Player Z since the crossing of the plane occurred before the ball hit the horizontal bar.
49.
(#9)
"Let" serve replays have been removed. If the referee calls a "let" on the serve, it is a referee error and a replay shall be called.
50.
(#42)
The server may start their service motion during the calling of the score. The server may NOT serve the ball until the score has been completely called.
51.
(#28) (NEW in 2022)
When a player throws their paddle, depending on the level of severity, a verbal warning, technical warning or technical foul may be given to the offender.
52.
(#33)
Players may not use time-outs or a medical time-out to delay the start of a match. A match cannot begin until all players are present. After the match has started ("Game 1, time-in, 0-0-2") time-outs or a medical time-out may be taken.
53.
(#131)
When using the Dual Referee Option (2 Ref System), which of the following statements are true?
54.
(#101)
After the rally has ended, if a line judge shows the blocked signal, the referee may immediately make a call. The referee may also canvass the remaining line judges to help make the call. The referee does not have to wait on a player's appeal to canvass the remaining line judges.
55.
(#12)
For all serves, at the time the ball is struck, the server's feet may not touch the court or outside the imaginary extension of the sideline or the centerline and both feet must be on the playing surface or ground behind the baseline.
56.
(#34)
When a player faults by hitting the ball into their own side of the net and the ball does not cross over the net, when does the fault occur?
57.
(#40)
At the beginning of the service motion, both feet must be behind the baseline and the imaginary extension of the baseline.
58.
(#4)
Any player may indicate "Not Ready" prior to the start of the score being called.
59.
(#5)
After game 1 has ended, Team A changes their starting server (and form of identification) but does not inform the referee or the opponents of the change. At the start of game 2, Team A serves the ball to start the game with the player wearing the form of identification. Should a fault be called?
60.
(#18)
To be considered legal, a serve must be made so that contact with the ball is not made above waist level, the arm must be moving in an upward arc and the paddle head must not be higher than the server's wrist when it strikes the ball. (Drop Serve exception noted)
61.
(#69)
After game 1, Team A receives a technical foul. Team B will start serving game 2 with a score of "1-0-2". The starting server for Team B should start the game serving from the left-hand court.
62.
(#59)
Players are responsible for line calls on their side of the net. If the opponents hit a ball close to a line, the player or team that is supposed to make the line call may appeal to the referee without first making a call. Once they appeal to the referee, they lose the right to make any subsequent "in" or "out" call for that rally.
63.
(#7)
When a player commits a technical foul, one point shall always be deducted from the offending player's score.
64.
(#57)
A player is hitting a two-handed stroke (where both hands are in contact with the paddle) when his right hand is hit by the ball below the wrist. The ball is still in play.
65.
(#54)
When the wrong receiver is setup to return the serve, the referee shall call an illegal receiver fault when the ball is served.
66.
(#80)
Other than non-volley zone violations, faults may only be committed when the ball is live and in-play.
67.
(#25)
During the serve, when the ball is struck, the server's feet shall not touch the area outside the imaginary extension of the sideline or the centerline, or touch the court, including the baseline.
68.
(#26)
A. If one player calls the ball "out" and the partner calls the ball "in", the ball shall be considered "in".
B. There is no written rule stating if one player calls the ball "out" and the partner says, "I'm not sure", "I don't know", etc., the ball shall be considered "in".
69.
(#79) (NEW in 2022)
A player deliberately carrying or catching the ball on the paddle while performing the serve or during a rally shall have committed a fault. (Players with the use of only one hand exception noted)
70.
(#56)
There is no rule preventing a server from using either style of serving (regular or Drop Serve) at any point during a match. There is no rule stating that the server must give a notification when and if they switch serving styles.
71.
(#61)
During a rally, Player A's hat flies off his head and is headed toward the ground. Which statement below is false?
72.
(#50)
Per the Officiating Handbook, when is a referee allowed to use "common sense" on judgments made during a match?
73.
(#142)
A player steps into the non-volley zone with her left foot and then jumps off the ground to hit a volley. Her right foot then lands outside the NVZ, but her left foot is still in the air when she volleys. This is a legal volley because only the foot that touches the NVZ is required to reestablish outside the zone before the volley strike.
74.
(#44)
A player standing outside the non-volley zone (NVZ) volleys the ball, but begins to lose her balance. To prevent stepping into the NVZ, she jumps over the corner and into the out of bounds area, then touches a net post while the ball is still live. A fault should be called.
75.
(#70)
Your partner drops her paddle and it lands on the ground on the court but not in the non-volley zone. The opponent's then hit a ball that hits the paddle lying on the ground. The ball bounces up high and you then hit the ball over the net to keep the rally going. This is legal because the dropped paddle is considered part of the court and play continues.