SELECT YOUR LOGIN TYPE
YOUTH PROGRAM PROVIDER (YPP)
SELECT LOGIN AREA
Welcome to the Referee Test!
This 2022 online Referee Test is Phase I of the USA Pickleball Referee Training/Certification program. It tests your knowledge of the USA Pickleball/IFP Official Tournament Rulebook and the USA Pickleball officiating best practice procedures contained in the 2022 Officiating Handbook. It is recommended that you study these training materials prior to taking the test. As a prerequisite for the Referee Certification program, you must achieve a passing score of 90% or better on this test.
The test consists of 75 questions with a 60-minute time limit. The 75 questions are drawn from a pool of 145+ questions. The questions are shuffled at the beginning of each test, so no two tests are exactly the same. In addition, new questions are frequently added.
Pick a time to take the quiz when you can complete all the questions without interruption because the test will automatically close after 60 minutes. The test will also close when you click the "Submit" button at the end of the test, so answer all questions before submitting.
Upon completion, your score will be displayed along with your answers and the correct answer for each question you answered incorrectly. You will also receive a follow-up email showing your test score.
(#75) After the rally has ended, if a line judge shows the blocked signal, the referee may immediately make a call if they clearly saw the ball land. The referee must wait for a player appeal before the remaining line judges may be asked to make a call.
(#55) (NEW in 2022)A server has a band-aid on their thumb and uses the thumb and band-aid to release the ball to perform the serve. The server imparts no spin on the release of the ball. This is not a fault.
(#59)Players are responsible for line calls on their side of the net. If the opponents hit a ball close to a line, the player or team that is supposed to make the line call may appeal to the referee without first making a call. Once they appeal to the referee, they lose the right to make any subsequent "in" or "out" call for that rally.
(#108)In a 2-out-of-3 match, if a team commits 2 technical warnings and a technical foul (listed in 13.G.2), the match shall be forfeited.
(#68)The rules allow for a "game forfeit" under certain conditions. In a 2-out-of-3 match, if a player takes a valid medical time-out and cannot continue play after the time limit has ended, a game forfeit shall be declared.
(#113)When a server uses the Drop Serve, the receiver may call for a replay if they did not see the release of the ball. The "call for a replay" must happen before the receiver returns the serve.
(#65)After a rally has ended, the referee holds up her hand indicating that she is about to call the score. The server then serves the ball before the referee starts to call the score. This is a fault.
(#64) (NEW in 2022)The server spins the ball to perform the serve but lets the ball fall to the ground. The server picks up the ball and releases again and then performs the serve before the 10-second count expires. The referee should call a fault.
(#79) (NEW in 2022)A player deliberately carrying or catching the ball on the paddle while performing the serve or during a rally shall have committed a fault. (Players with the use of only one hand exception noted)
(#61)During a rally, Player A's hat flies off his head and is headed toward the ground. Which statement below is false?
(#17)It is not a fault if the server misses the ball when trying to serve as long as the serve occurs before the 10-second count expires.
(#37)The receiver or server's partner may stand anywhere on or off their team's side of the court.
(#35)Players may call faults on themselves or line calls to their disadvantage during or after the completion of a rally.
(#63) Players may overrule line calls to their own disadvantage. This includes the overrule of the opponent, line judges, and even their partner. This includes an overrule of a referee's clear "in" or "out" call.
(#6) In a match with line judges, if the officiating team cannot make a line call, a replay shall be called.
(#48)Per the rulebook, in doubles play when making a line call, which of the following phrases confirm that doubt exists?
(#54)When the wrong receiver is setup to return the serve, the referee shall call an illegal receiver fault when the ball is served.
(#126)When doubles partners disagree on a line call, (one calls the ball "out" and the other calls the ball 'in") either player may appeal to the referee for a ruling. The appeal to the referee can be made AFTER both players have made their line calls.
(#145)In a match to 21, teams have 3 time-outs available.
(#74) (NEW in 2022)The incorrect server is set to serve. The receiver asks the referee, "Isn't she the wrong server?". The referee confirms that the server is incorrect. The serving team changes servers to avoid a fault. The referee should warn the receiver against asking correct server or server position questions.
(#131) When using the Dual Referee Option (2 Ref System), which of the following statements are true?
(#29)Any ball that cannot be called "out" must be presumed to be "in."
(#8) A ball in play that contacts a permanent object after it has bounced on the opponent's court will result in a dead ball and the player who hit the ball shall win the rally.
(#73) In non-officiated play, the server's partner may call the score if the server is unable to call the score.
(#28) (NEW in 2022)When a player throws their paddle, depending on the level of severity, a verbal warning, technical warning or technical foul may be given to the offender.
(#132)A referee may immediately call a distraction fault on a player during a rally.
(#128)When the Drop Serve is used, after the ball bounces, the server must contact the ball before it ascends higher than waist level.
(#139) In a non-officiated match, Team A believes Team B committed a fault (double bounce, double hit, ball touches player's body, etc) Team A can mention they believe Team B committed a fault, but the final decision on the fault resolution belongs to Team B. (Rule 13.D.1.b exceptions noted)
(#15)If a served ball hits the net and lands on the non-volley zone line, it is considered a "Let" and a replay will be called.
(#146) When using the Dual Referee Option (2 Ref System) if the lead referee cannot clearly make a line call, they should always solicit the opinion of the 2nd referee.
(#123)Player A volleys a ball that hits the top of the net and then falls over and hits the horizontal bar. Just before the ball hits the horizontal bar, the opponent, Player Z, crosses the plane of the net. The referee should call a fault on Player Z since the crossing of the plane occurred before the ball hit the horizontal bar.
(#11) When using the Drop Serve, the release of the ball must be visible to the referee only.
(#88) A referee shall call a fault if a player calls "time-out" after the service motion has started but before the serve occurs.
(#20) During the mid-game, end change time-out, coaching is allowed.
(#45)A player standing outside the non-volley zone (NVZ) volleys the ball, but begins to lose her balance. To prevent stepping into the NVZ, she jumps over the corner and into the out of bounds area, then touches a net post after the ball was dead. A fault should be called.
(#129) It is a fault if a wheelchair player does not return the ball before it bounces 3 times. The first bounce must be in the court, but the location of the remaining bounces are not specified.
(#30) In a 2-out-of-3 match, a referee may impose a game forfeit when a player fails to report to play 10 minutes after the match has been called. A match forfeit shall be imposed when a player fails to report to play 15 minutes after the match has been called.
(#69) After game 1, Team A receives a technical foul. Team B will start serving game 2 with a score of "1-0-2". The starting server for Team B should start the game serving from the left-hand court.
(#52) After the score is called, if the serving team changes service courts, the referee shall stop play and allow all players to reposition. If the server serves before the referee starts to recall the score, a fault should not be called.
(#13)A serve landing on any service court line, except the non-volley zone line, should be considered in-play and must be returned by the receiving team.
(#50)Per the Officiating Handbook, when is a referee allowed to use "common sense" on judgments made during a match?
(#40) At the beginning of the service motion, both feet must be behind the baseline and the imaginary extension of the baseline.
(#46)A ball is hit at an angle, bounces in the court, and travels beyond the sidelines. The receiver manages to return the ball, hitting a low shot (below net level) around and outside the post into the opponent’s court. This is a legal hit and the ball remains in play.
(#44)A player standing outside the non-volley zone (NVZ) volleys the ball, but begins to lose her balance. To prevent stepping into the NVZ, she jumps over the corner and into the out of bounds area, then touches a net post while the ball is still live. A fault should be called.
(#19)When a time-out is called, the referee should advise all players to place their paddles on the court.
(#27)If you do not make an initial line call and then ask your opponent's opinion if a ball was “in” or “out,” you must accept their opinion. Once you ask the opponent's opinion, you lose any right to make a subsequent "in" or "out" call for that rally.
(#43)A player is allowed to reach under the net to play a ball that has bounced back over the net. Which of the following are true?
(#24)Any malfunction of a net system during play shall be considered a hinder.
(#5) After game 1 has ended, Team A changes their starting server (and form of identification) but does not inform the referee or the opponents of the change. At the start of game 2, Team A serves the ball to start the game with the player wearing the form of identification. Should a fault be called?
(#41)If a player receives 3 technical warnings during a match, the referee shall always impose a forfeiture of the match.
(#141)An athletic player runs fast toward the net and jumps to hit a volley. The jumping player volleys a shot towards the opponent. The paddle flies out of the hitter's hand and eventually lands in the opponent's court. Before the paddle landed, the ball grazes the shoulder of the opponent. Assuming no distraction happened, the player who volleyed did not commit a fault.
(#33)Players may not use time-outs or a medical time-out to delay the start of a match. A match cannot begin until all players are present. After the match has started ("Game 1, time-in, 0-0-2") time-outs or a medical time-out may be taken.
(#95)Midway through game 2, the partners swing their paddles at the ball at the same time and one player's finger gets hit by his partner's paddle and is injured. After a fifteen-minute medical time-out, the injured player says he believe he can still play. The ref calls time-in and calls the score. The injured player then uses one of their time-outs. Should the referee allow the time-out?
(#2)If a served ball touches the net and then hits the receiver's partner, who is clearly standing outside of receiver's service area, what is the call?
(#138) After a match has ended, if an incorrect server or incorrect server position is discovered, the error may be corrected until what point in time?
(#3)The event-provided starting server form of identification must be worn:
(#39) (NEW in 2022)The words "third shot" are no longer in the rulebook and an actual "third shot" has no bearing on any wrong score call by the referee or player.
(#72) When the Drop Serve is used, there is no rule stating the ball must be served before the second bounce.
(#105)In 2-out-of-3 matches, 3 technical warnings ("3 strikes") equates to a game forfeit. In a single game to 15, the game forfeit is the same as the match forfeit.
(#23)Once the game has begun, except during time-outs, any communication between a player and any person not on the court, if determined by the referee to be coaching, shall result in either a verbal warning or technical warning to the offending player or team.
(#56) There is no rule preventing a server from using either style of serving (regular or Drop Serve) at any point during a match. There is no rule stating that the server must give a notification when and if they switch serving styles.
(#57)A player is hitting a two-handed stroke (where both hands are in contact with the paddle) when his right hand is hit by the ball below the wrist. The ball is still in play.
(#4)Any player may indicate "Not Ready" prior to the start of the score being called.
(#109) When using the Drop Serve, the server may not impart any upward or downward force when the ball is released.
(#25)During the serve, when the ball is struck, the server's feet shall not touch the area outside the imaginary extension of the sideline or the centerline, or touch the court, including the baseline.
(#60) If a player makes an initial "out" line call and then (out of good sportsmanship) asks for the opponent's opinion, which of the following are true? (Assume no referee overrule)
(#47)The "silent" line judge option allows for players to make the initial line call and line judges only make calls when requested by the referee after an appeal by a player.
(#120) When a player uses the Drop Serve, when the ball is released, there is no rule stating that the server's feet must be behind the baseline. Rules for feet placement are applied the instant the ball is struck to perform the serve.
(#53) (NEW in 2022)After the serve, any player who stops play for a wrong score call will have committed a fault.
(#49) In a high-profile singles gold medal match, the referee determines the receiver should be ready and calls the score to begin the 10-second count. The receiver asks the referee to confirm the score, which the referee does. The referee should stop play, answer the question and recall the score.
(#62)In a 2-out-of-3 match, the starting server will always begin the game serving from the right-hand court.
(#94) After the serve, if players suspect a ball is broken or cracked, play must continue until the end of the rally.
(#58)The incorrect receiver is set and ready to receive serve. Immediately after the serve is hit, the correct receiver runs over and returns the serve after it has bounced. This is a fault because the incorrect receiver was in the receiver position at the time the serve occurred.
(#9)"Let" serve replays have been removed. If the referee calls a "let" on the serve, it is a referee error and a replay shall be called.
(#142)A player steps into the non-volley zone with her left foot and then jumps off the ground to hit a volley. Her right foot then lands outside the NVZ, but her left foot is still in the air when she volleys. This is a legal volley because only the foot that touches the NVZ is required to reestablish outside the zone before the volley strike.
You have come to the end of the Referee Test. If you would like to return to any questions to review your answers, please use the “Previous” buttons at the bottom of each page. If you are ready to submit the test, please click the “Submit” button below.
Time is Up!